© 2022 Lakeshore Public Radio
8625 Indiana Place
Merrillville, IN 46410
Northwest Indiana - WLPR 89.1 FM
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
2018 Indiana Midterm Elections

Midterm Election Night Coverage


In what's expected to be one of the largest turnouts in Midterm Election history, Lakeshore Public Radio - 89.1 FM will have live coverage as the polls close, and Hoosiers find out what the next two-years will entail. Coverage will begin at 6:00 PM, on Lakeshore Public Radio - 89.1 FM, streaming on LakeshorePublicRadio.org, and on Facebook Live.

Locally, Chris Nolte will takeover the microphone at 8:00 PM, with Richard Rupp and Tim Sanders of Purdue Northwest, and Leigh Morris, the former Mayor of LaPorte. Ryan Priest will provide updated polling numbers, and coverage will be streamed on-line on Facebook live.

Following statewide and local coverage, we'll provide NPR coverage through the night. The regular Tuesday night line-up of "Midwest Beat," "World Cafe," "Don's Basement Tapes," and "The Scope" will return the following week.

Our schedule for Election Night:

6:00 - 8:00 PM - Indiana Public Broadcasting News - Jill Sheridan

8:00 - 11:00 PM - Local Coverage - Chris Nolte

11:00 PM - 2:00 AM - NPR Coverage

Here's a list of the races we'll be keeping an eye on during election night:

U.S. Senate - Sen. Joe Donnelly (D), Mike Braun (R), Lucy Brenton (L)

U.S. Representative District 1 - Rep. Pete Visclosky (D), Jonathan Kleinmann (I), Mark Leyva (R)

Secretary of State - Connie Lawson (R), Jim Harper (D), Mark Rutherford (L)

Auditor for the State - Tera Klutz (R), John Schick (L), Joselyn Whitticker (D)

Lake County Sheriff - Sheriff Oscar Martinez (D), Dan Bursac (R)

State Representative District 1 - Donna Dunn (L), Carolyn Jackson (D)

State Representative District 4 - Ed Soliday (R), Frank Szczepanski (D)

State Representative District 9 - Pat Boy (D), Dan Granquist (R)

State Representative District 11 - Michael Aylesworth (R), Delano Scaife (D)

State Representative District 15 - Hal Slager (R), Chris Chyung (D)

State Representative District 19 - Julie Olthoff (R), Lisa Beck (D)

State Senator District 1 - Frank Mrvan Jr. (D), Charles Kallas (R)

State Senator District 4 - Karen Tallian (D), Cole Stultz (R)

State Senator District 6 - Rick Niemeyer (R), Ryan Farrar (D)

Lake County Council District 4 - Dan Dernulc (R), Barry Halgrimson (D)

Lake County Council District 7 - Christian Jorgensen (R), Philip Kuiper (D)

Porter County Council District 3 - Mark Hoffman (R), Greg Simms (D)

Porter County Council District 4 - Mike Jessen (R), Susie Talevski (D)

Porter County Coroner - Cyndi Dykes (R), Randy Wilkening (D)

Incumbents in bold, listed first
If not an incumbent race, names in alphabetical order

Related Content