Northwest Indiana - WLPR 89.1 FM
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Porter County election results include some tight local races


In Porter County, Democrat Jesse Harper was narrowly reelected to another term as Center Township trustee. He defeated Republican Valparaiso City Council President Casey Schmidt by a margin of 52-to-48 percent. The campaign briefly spilled into city council and school board meetings, after residents said materials from the Schmidt campaign referred to the appointment of the Valparaiso School Board's first Black member as a poor decision.

The margin was even narrower in the Pine Township Trustee's race, with Republican Nick Davey beating Democrat Jeffrey Turner by just 13 votes. Porter County's only contested municipal race saw Republican Christopher Wittmer defeat Democrat Megan Bibler for the Kouts Town Council's District 4 seat.

Duneland School Board winners include Alayna Lightfoot Pol and Beth Mehling. Robert Martin and Elizabeth McFalls won races for East Porter County School Board. Portage Township School Board winners include Andy Maletta and Troy Williams, while Kevin Ribordy, Christine Kostbade and Leah Pagone won races for Union Township School Board. Jeff Nilsen was reelected to the Boone Township School Board.

Click here for complete results from all Porter County races.