Northwest Indiana - WLPR 89.1 FM
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Ocean's "Rat Pack" Joins The Beat

Rat Pack Pic.jpg

The three members of Ocean's "RAT PACK" -- Tony Ocean, Elliot Wimbush and Bill Serritella -- guest on this edition of "Midwest BEAT with Tom Lounges," as they prepare to bring a touch of old Vegas -- the smoky gin joints, the saloons, and early casinos -- to historic downtown Hobart, IN.

Stay Connected
Tom Lounges has been a region radio personality and a music journalist since 1979. For the last 35-years, he has been reporting on entertainment as a weekly columnist and feature writer for The Times newspaper. He was also publisher and editor of the monthly tri-state entertainment magazine ("Midwest BEAT Magazine") for over two decades, he has written hundreds of features for numerous national glossy magazines over the decades, and he wrote "Liner Notes" for over a dozen albums release by Sony Records.
Related Content
  • top albums.jpg
    Midwest Beat Year in Review 2022!
    Tom Lounges will be playing one song from each of the Regionally released albums that landed on my annual "TOM'S TOP 10 REGIONAL ALBUMS OF 2022" list.
  • In the few years since their formation, Tempt have created a style, verve, vibe and quality that is of their own making. Here is what we have all craved and desired for so long. Namely, a band for the modern era who do not pander to trends. Nor are they dependent on their influences. No, here are four talents who meld and merge into something that is far more than the sum of those considerable parts.So, who are Tempt? They are vocalist Zach Allen, guitarist Harrison Marcello, bassist Chris Gooden and drummer Nicholas Burrows. Aside from Burrows, who comes from Windsor, Ontario, they all hail from New York. But in a way, their geographical location is irrelevant. Because what they have is a sound that appeals to a global community.
  • Members of Chicago's most talked about holiday musical presentation -- CLASSICAL BLAST -- will guest live from 7-8pm on 89.1-FM Lakeshore Public Radio's weekly "Midwest BEAT" radio program. Selections will be played from the group's now holiday classic album, "Dark Side Of the Yule".Classical Blast’s Dark Side of the Yule holiday concert is a most unique Christmas musical experience which provides a new take on traditional carols, by mashing with rock music from the '60s to current, all performed on a mix of classical and rock instruments and featuring special guests.The live "Dark Side of the Yule" performances includes music by Pink Floyd, The Beatles, Simon & Garfunkel, Joni Mitchell, Moody Blues, Metallica, Evanescence, and others, mashed up with Christmas classics, medieval carols, and original Classical Blast holiday songs.This year’s show features some new group members and some special guests added to the mix, along with new original music selections and creative new mash-ups, performed with the same outstanding musicianship expected from the critically acclaimed hybrid ensemble known as Classical Blast.
  • The Ides of March are the longest running Chicago rock group still able to boast of having all of its original founding members - Larry Millas (guitar/vocals), Bob Bergland (bass), Mike Borch (drums) and Jim Peterik (guitar/lead vocals) - dating back to 1964. Scott May (keys/vocals) who joined in 1989 rounds out the band.This broadcaster will serve as the evening's bell jingling, red-nosed stage emcee on Friday. So get a sneak peek at what's in store for this rockin' holiday special event. Tickets & More: www.brickartlive.com.Keep up with the iconic group at: www.theidesofmarch.com.
  • Chicagoland songwriter and recording artist Dave Rudolf will tonight from 7-8pm on 89.1-FM Lakeshore Public Radio's weekly "Midwest BEAT" radio program. Selections from Rudolf's two newest albums released via indie label, Moneytree Records.Selections from each of those two albums -- "Traditional" and "Sit Down, Take A Number" -- will be spotlighted on the program. Rudolf will perform a song or two live in studio with accompaniment by instrumentalist John Chorney.The very latest of the two new releases - "Sit Down, Take A Number" - is a 16-song collection and is the 41st career album by this veteran Chicago troubadour, who crosses styles and genres with tremendous ease. One will hear that first hand as songs from these two back to back albums are far removed frm each other musically.Keyboardist/organist John Chorney who joins us in studio for this live broadcast is a frequent session player and collaborator of Rudolf.Other local luminaries who appear on this album, include region talents who are well known to Midwest BEAT listeners, such as blues guitarist Jack Whittle, violinist Al Joseph, trumpeter Tim Bales (of Ides of March), and vocalist Lauren Dukes.Read more about Dave and his music at: www.daverudolf.com.