Lakeshore Public Radio Named As Finalist in 2017 Indiana APBA Contest

Mar 1, 2018

INDIANAPOLIS (AP) — Finalists have been announced in the Indiana Associated Press Broadcasters Association (APBA) 2017 contest.

The awards in actual order of finish - first and second places - will be announced at the APBA awards banquet on Saturday, April 14 in Indianapolis.

Lakeshore Public Radio - 89.1 FM (WLPR-FM) has been nominated as a finalist in four categories, including: Best Spot News Reporting (Sharon Jackson), Best General News (Sharon Jackson), Best Community Impact (Chris Nolte), and Best Reporter (Sharon Jackson).

Here are the finalists list in Radio II/Local Radio, in which Lakeshore Public Radio is nominated:

Best Spot News Reporting: Barbara Brosher, WFIU-FM, "Severe Weather Causes Damage in Southern Indiana"; Sharon Jackson, WLPR-FM, Merrillville, "Valparaiso High School Principal Resigns."

Best General News: J.D. Gray, WFIU-FM, Bloomington, "DNR Workshop Encourages Bowfishing Invasive Carp Species"; Sharon Jackson, WLPR-FM, Merrillville, "Mexican Citizens Share Opinions and Experiences with Lakeshore Public Radio."

Best Community Impact: Chris Nolte, WLPR-FM, Merrillville, "A Community Conversation on Executive Power and the Immigration Issue"; WBST-FM, Muncie, "Unmasked: The Stigma of Meth."

Best Reporter: Sharon Jackson, WLPR-FM, Merrillville; Stephanie Wiechmann, WBST-FM, Muncie.

Thirty radio and television broadcast organizations submitted more than 300 entries in the contest, which featured news, sports, and weather reporting as well as feature, investigative, public interest reporting, photography, video, and website categories.

The Associated Press is a not-for-profit news cooperative representing 1,400 newspapers and 5,000 broadcast stations in the United States.